This weekend I had a great time at Planet Comicon in Kansas City.  While I was on the way back I finally got around to listening to Kevin Smith’s podcast tribute to Stan Lee.  As I listened to it, I couldn’t help but think of who the creators are that have inspired me through their stories and characters.  So, I decided to make a list of 25 creators from film, television, comic books, and literature who have inspired me.  Here is the list.  It is in alphabetical order, rather than any type of ranking.

  1.     J. J. Abrams

J. J. Abrams barely makes it onto this list.  But there are a few reasons he does.  First, his Star Trek films.  I was never really a big Star Trek fan, I didn’t hate them, but I didn’t necessarily love them either.  That changed with the 2011 Star Trek film.  It became worthy of multiple viewings for me.  His directions of Star Wars: Force Awakens made me excited about the Star Wars film franchise all over again.  However, ultimately it was his work on the show Lost that makes him worthy of this list.  It was a show that had me connected from start to finish, and engaged me in many thoughts.  (Even if the series finale was less than stellar.)

2.   Brian Michael Bendis

Image result for Daredevil #33 Maleev

From about 2000 to 2018, Brian Michael Bendis was the primary writer for Marvel Comics.  For me personally, I have gone through phases when it comes to comic books.  In 2002, when I saw the first Spiderman film I decided to get back into comic books.  The comic I picked up:  Ultimate Spider-man, Ultimate X-Men, and Daredevil.  All three of these titles were written by Bendis, and I ate them up.  His run on Daredevil in particular made me truly love the character.  Between Alex Maleev’s gritty art and Bendis incredible writing, it captured my attention.  As I attend comic cons, Bendis is near the top of my list of people who I’d love to meet.  If you enjoyed the recent movie “Spiderman: Into the Spider-verse” you can thank Brian Michael Bendis for creating Miles Morales.

3.   Eric Bischoff

Eric Bischoff is one of two wrestling promoters on this list.  But anyone that knows me knows that I love Professional wrestling.  I respect the choreography and the story telling.  I love seeing guys who in person are genuinely nice, able to get me to hate them through their in-ring persona.  Eric Bischoff was so instrumental to probably the greatest era of professional wrestling.  He pushed WWE to do better by creating a stellar product at WCW.  The NWO invasion remains the biggest moment in the history of Pro Wrestling, especially Hulk Hogan turning heel.  Eric Bischoff was brilliant in his decision making.  He gave me many hours of entertainment.

4.  Mel Brooks

Some days are really long.  There are days where meetings stress you out.  There are days where I do emotionally difficult funerals.  There are days when my Facebook feed breaks my heart.  It is on those days that I needs some good solid humor.  Few are better at doing that than Mel Brooks movies.  From Blazing Saddles to History of the World to Robin Hood: Men in Tights to Spaceballs and many more.  So many side-splitting moments.  So many days lifting my spirits.  Many thanks are owed to Mel Brooks.

5.  Tim Burton

Tim Burton was one that I initially wasn’t going to put on this list, but I thought about it.  Yes.  He gave me the Batman movies of my generation.  He gave me Beetlejuice which spawned a fun animated series. He gave me Nightmare Before Christmas.  I’m even one who enjoyed his version of Alice in Wonderland (yes I’m aware of how of from the book it is).  His films Big Fish, Ed Wood, and Edward Scissorhands are wonderfully crafted.  I guess he fits right in on this list.